Bookmas Tag Part One- 2023

Tis’ the season of books! This is a bookmas tag that I created in 2019 that I am doing again this year! It features two parts, each with twelve questions all about books I’ve read this year.

If you’d like to participate, please feel free to do so and let me know!

Without further ado, let’s begin.

.

1.Coal- Which book did you read this year that you would swap for a piece of coal?

This book was horrific with ridiculous amounts of offensive content.

.

.

2.Star- Which book did you read this year that had good advice?

This book offers some good advice. Never step into a fairy circle.

.

.

3.Candy Cane- Which book hooked you in the second you started reading it?

The first few lines of this murder mystery had me hooked right away. You can read my review here.

.

.

4.Christmas Tree- Which book did you read this year that you hope grows into a series?

I didn’t read any books this year that I hope grows into a series.

.

.

5.Ornament- Prettiest book cover this year?

.

.

6.Gingerbread Man- Favourite fictional character you came across this year?

The title character of this witchy book, Hecate Cavendish. She was a studious independent woman who was deeply interested in old books and esoterica. You can read my review here.

.

.

7.Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer- What book did you give a low rating to that others did not?

A lot of readers gave this book a high rating but I only gave it 3/5 stars. I was hoping for more Tarot and mystical elements in the plot. The cover and synopsis of this book was misleading because it seemed like it was a mystical type of book which it was not.

.

.

8.Frosty the Snowman- Favourite wintry scene in a book?

Much of this book takes place in wintry forests in Eastern Europe which created a magical atmosphere.

.

.

9.Elf- The ‘DNF’ that you read the least amount of pages.

I didn’t understand this story and the first few paragraphs confused me so much I could not continue reading it.

.

.

10.Wreath- Best concluding book to a series?

The Wolf’s Eye was the concluding book in The Order of the Seven Stars duology by Luanne G. Smith. It was the only concluding book I read this year.

.

11.Lights- A book that made you think differently about something?

This book made me think differently about the wellness influencer industry and what it may actually be promoting.

.

.

12.Santa- A book on your Christmas wishlist

Temple St. Clair is my favourite jewelry designer and while her pieces are far too rich for me, I love hearing her speak about her inspiration and life as a jewelry designer. The photography in this book looks gorgeous and since I cannot afford her real pieces, perhaps I can enjoy the photos instead?

.

.

See you on December 24th for Part Two of this Bookmas Tag!

Leave a comment