Disappointing Books I’ve Read Lately 2022 Vol.1

Here are three books I’ve read lately which didn’t need their own individual posts because they were not highly rated. It is my first disappointing books round-up of the year.

My Starry Rating: 3/5 Stars

Reason for Rating: Not that entertaining but not boring either.

What I Learned: A little more background research on authors might be helpful going forward as this author was full of controversies.

Publication Date: 1908

Genres: Classics, Horror, Gothic, Fiction

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/150555.The_Magician

This is a story about obsession and psychic attack. Arthur and Margaret are engaged to be married but when an occultist becomes acquainted with the couple, he worms his way into their lives, destroying the happy couple’s relationship. The book has been riddled with controversy over the years due to accusations of plagiarism. The occultist in the story is believed to be modeled after Crowley, whom the author knew personally. The occultist, Mr. Haddo is eccentric and all powerful in this story, with his manipulations overshadowing any “magical” abilities he may have possessed. It’s a creepy story that examines the dangers of the occult in seducing the innocent.

.

.

My Starry Rating: 3/5 Stars

Reason for Rating: Not enough magic, and predictable.

What I Learned: I will probably avoid supernatural English countryside stories for a while because they are all the same.

Publication Date: October 4, 2022 by Simon Schuster

Genres: Magical Realism, Fiction, Mystery

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/60321399-the-white-hare

I was expecting more magic in The White Hare. It was a typical creepy old house in the English countryside type of story which are very common. The pagan references were interesting but not suspenseful enough to keep me engaged. The story was a little boring and there were too many unlikeable characters. I appreciate the author’s inspiration for writing this story, but I think she could have incorporated more magic and spookiness into the plot. I liked the toy Rabbit, he/she was my favourite character and at the beginning of the book I thought it was going to be a darker more adult oriented version of The Velveteen Rabbit (which would have been pretty interesting). I’m not sure why the book was being marketed to fans of Alice Hoffman, because I didn’t feel it had enough magical realism to interest Hoffman’s fans.

Overall, The White Hare is a story that hops to Cornwall, England’s mystical pagan past, but doesn’t go far enough in bringing its magic and mystery to a suspenseful level. A little too predictable for me.

Thank you to the publisher for providing me with a free arc via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

.

.

My Starry Rating: 2/5 Stars

Reason for Rating: Boring

What I Learned: I don’t like ghost stories…

Publication Date: August 2, 2022 by Random House

Genres: Horror, Fantasy, Fiction

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/59575958-small-angels

Unfortunately, I did not connect to this story. I didn’t know what to expect, but the synopsis was giving off folk horror vibes which made me hopeful that it would be a good read. The pacing was too slow and the “ghost” mystery was revealed way too early in the story and it wasn’t frightening either. This made the plot lackluster and a bit of a bore.

The lack of suspense and mystery zapped the potentially eerie atmosphere of this story. I’m disappointed.

Thank you to the publisher for granting my wish to read this book and providing me with a free arc via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

.

.

.

Leave a comment